Merry Christmas from South Africa!

Merry Christmas all my friends and loved ones! It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

This year, I am going to be rocking this blistering hot Christmas in my new South Africa Jersey, thanks to Sister Kenney! But I’m so excited to be spending it with the people here in South Africa and be able to share the light that Christ brings during this time of year.

I’ve noticed during this month of December, we have been spending a lot of time tracting and street contacting, and people are just in that vibe where they are thinking of families or Christ more and they accept our pamphlets or our pass along card with so much more gratitude than normal. I have noticed that the spirit has been poured out more abundantly during this time when the whole world celebrates Christ’s birth.

Yesterday we got our entire flat complex together to share a Christmas message with all of them, and it was so nice to sit around and read from Luke 2 with them and discuss and help them gain a deeper understanding of the importance of that event. Even though it was kind of funny when one woman thought ever time she spoke, she had to stand, clasp her hands together and speak with her body in a 90 degree angle. lol. But that aside, they seemed so grateful and so happy. That was all because of the spirit. Sharing a story about a baby being born and being put in a manger shouldn’t give us that amazing peace that is does. The spirit testifying that Jesus really is the Christ.

I’ve been thinking of how it must have felt for those shepherds. Seeing the Saviour of the world in a shack and he must have looked so small in the world. Picturing myself as one of the shepherds and seeing little Jesus, and really thinking of what the Atonement is just kind of chokes me up.

I love this time of year and I love the love that is shared all over the place. Makes it seem like we have a little less problems.

Merry Christmas from South Africa!

Our King Lives! 

-Elder Browning

Elder Hansen, my adopted father, has made the end of his journey which we call mission.

 

Brother Schmidt took us biking

Leave a comment